Batman Vol. 9 – Bloom

Alright, so this book effectively ended the collection of Batman graphic novels that I’ve been showcasing to my fellow classmates in my English methods course.

Only within the last few years have I started to read graphic novels. Even though I have always held great adoration for Batman mythos, I never really read any comics. I felt as though if I were going to read, I’d real a real book, and if I were going to watch a movie, I’d watch a real movie. I had never considered comics or graphic novels a very valuable medium. That was, until I picked one up and was transported to another world. These artists pour their souls into the page. They create fantastic scenes that a reader may only glance at for a couple seconds while moving from speech bubble to speech bubble. The amount of collaboration needed to make a single graphic novel is almost mind-boggling when compared to how much collaboration it takes to make a regular novel. I’ve truly come to appreciate this medium and all that it can do, especially for superheros. After all, this genre created Batman and other heroes like him.

I highly recommend anyone who is a fan of the Batman universe read the Batman collection from The New 52, written by Scott Snyder and Greg Capullo.

Finally, and I can’t believe I even made this… here is one of my favorite scenes from Volume 9 – Bloom.

Don’t judge me.

Leave a Reply

