Guest Blog

Today I have a very exciting post for you. In this post, you don’t have to listen to what I am saying. “What?! That’s amazing” you might well be saying right now. And I completely agree! But how is this possible. Well, as I know you’re a genius and can deduct what the title of this post might mean, I know I don’t have to tell you that today’s post comes from a guest blogger! Oh, well, I guess I just told you.

Anyways, Megan Burbach is my guest blogger. Not only do I respect Megan very greatly in the field of education and scholasticism in general, but I also hold her in high regard in another way: Megan is my very best friend. That being said, I implore you to tear her to read her post with as much zeal as you may read some of mine. Also, if you would like to hear more of what she has to say, check out her blog.

Without further ado, here is Megan Burbach.

Hello there. My name is Megan Burbach, and I am a social science secondary education major at UWP. I’ve known Wesley since my first semester of college, the fall of 2013, so I’ve known him for a while, so I have free reign to disclose all his dirt, right?

I won’t do that. Instead, I’ll tell you a little about myself.

 

First, today, April 12, is my birthday. My 21st, which is kind of a big deal in Wisconsin. Plus, it’s spring and the winter is finally letting up. Of course, I will not be going out because I will be locked in my room, at my own will, studying for the three tests I have this week. Fun, right? I’m kind of a partier. Admittedly, I’m a little behind for a few reasons. One, I missed four classes on Monday because I was at the WEMTA Conference–a conference put on by the Wisconsin Educational Media and Technology Association. It was a wonderful and insightful experience, so though I don’t like missing class, it was totally worth it. Two, this semester has been very low-key–which is very rare for me. My classes haven’t kept me as engaged as I’d like and they also haven’t been work-intensive, minus the studying. I have one paper, which is an economics paper, and I don’t know about you, but economics isn’t exactly a “fun” topic for me. Needless to say, I’ve been putting that paper off.

 

So anyway, Wesley and I are in Ed. Media Apps together. Ed Media Apps is a class that teaches future teachers how to integrate technology into their classrooms. It’s really opened my eyes to the endless possibilities changes in technology has brought to educators. Really, it’s probably one of the most valuable classes I’ve taken to date. Technology in the classroom is something I’m looking forward to working with. Technology right now, however, is probably the third reason why I feel so behind in my academics. Let’s be honest, who isn’t almost always connected to some form of social media on some device? For me, it’s my phone. Let’s say I’m writing that dreaded economics paper and I think, “Man, I wrote two paragraphs. I need a reward.” Of course, I recognize the ridiculousness in that statement, but hey, it’s economics. So, naturally, I’ll pick up my phone and check Facebook–which leads usually to some sort of Google search, a YouTube video, a BuzzFeed recipe, and, thirty minutes later, I feel completely unmotivated to write. Don’t get me wrong–I love writing and pride myself with being  pretty good at it. I also love technology, but sometimes if its usage goes unchecked things can get a little carried away.

 

If technology sometimes hinders my schoolwork, what can it do to make schoolwork better? PROJECTS. Learning new things is fun! At WEMTA, I learned so many cool new ways to infiltrate technology into lessons and schoolwork using so many (and often free) resources. Of course, sometimes it’s hard to make a dry economics paper “cool”, but, say, if I could make an interactive infographic on some given countries’ estimated real GDP over the years,that would actually be something I’d have fun with. In his blog post, Wesley had said, “Teachers need to keep up with their students in order to understand and relate to them, but, most importantly, keep them interested in what they’re teaching.” I can’t stress that enough (see above mentionings of economics). Really, just Google ways to incorporate technology into lessons and tools to do so. You might be surprised with how much is out there.

Leave a Reply

